Honolulu, Hawaii, december 15, 2023 – The Oahu Transit Services, Inc. (OTS) Roadeo, took place today at TheBus Pearl City facility.  Twenty-four bus operators participated in this year’s roadeo, which included a full obstacle course, timed runs, and intricate maneuvers utilizing a 40-foot bus. 


In the bus maintenance competition, there were six teams participating in timed diagnostics and repair completion. 


TheHandi-Van competition included thirteen participants.  The van operators drove a modified version of TheBus operator course using a standard paratransit van.


TheHandi-Van winner will compete in the national competition presented by the Community Transportation Association of America (CTAA) in Palm Beach, Florida in June 2024.


The winning bus operator and maintenance team will go on to represent the organization in the international competition presented by the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) in Portland, Oregon in April 2024. 


2023 Roadeo Winners


Bus Roadeo


1st Place:      Derwin Yamaguchi

2nd Place:      Douglas Rego

3rd Place:       Jan Rusinek 



Maintenance Roadeo


1st Place Team

Keith Yanagi (Captain), Leon Cordeiro, Alexander Kim


2nd Place Team

               Robert Freitas (Captain), Kaimiokekai Andrade-Meyers, Shon Richardson


3rd Place Team

   David Kaya (Captain), Randall Ige, Vincent Duldulao


TheHandi-Van Roadeo


1st Place: John Steffens

2nd Place:  Cesar Paradeza

3rd Place:  Damon Pavao